We are the hands and feet of the Lord, but how are we serving?

IMG_0238

The launch of these thoughts are like a prayer from my heart, and my musings of my wrestling of trying to come to terms of where the Lord would have me to be in service, using my hands and feet, the very gifts God has given to me, to be used for Gods glory.

You are with me all the time, you Lord want to speak to me. I want you to guide me and teach me in the way you have chosen for me. I can do nothing without you; in your mercy show me where to go. I know that you “stand at the door and knock. But I am so busy so preoccupied with what to read, what to write, what to say, what to do, I do not realize  that all those problems would not exist if I listened to you and stopped listening  to my own inner turmoil.” Henri J. M. Nouwen, A cry for mercy.

Help me Lord to hear what you’re saying, help me Lord with my life discernment, using the gifts you have given, I’m trying to mix my art and my interest in Celtic spirituality, the Celtic Saint, and living a contemplative life.

Help me to connect in a community of like-minded people, who want to encourage each other to reach our God given potential. Who are actually, and genuinely interested in all the areas I am wrestling with, and trying to implement into my life. To be around people who awaken my spirit and inspire me to take bold courageous steps forward. Who  encourage me forward into more that the Lord wants to do in me and through me.

How to not be just full of information, where there is no transformation taking place. Then there is the preoccupation of reading as if the next book will have the answer to that inner longing and search, to fill the longing of the heart. We need reminding, I know but forget, that you alone can only fill this ache. Then am I reading and researching, and getting no results, due to the search being in the wrong place? I don’t look to retain a lot of the material I’m reading, am I in a hurry to get to the desired result of a master in the area of Celtic Christianity and a Contemplative life, be blessed in this area to be a blessing to others.

I also want to be able to video and go to sacred spaces to be a video journalist on the subject of spirituality!

Jesus Help Me

 I Found this picture on the web and it resonated with me!

1 Thessalonians 4: 9 – 11

“Now about your love for one another we do not need to write to you, for you yourselves have been taught by God to love each other. 10And in fact, you do love all of God’s family throughout Macedonia. Yet we urge you, brothers and sisters, to do so more and more, 11and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you, 12so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.

This is a verse I’m pondering at present. and further musings.

v11 And that you study to be quiet, and to mind your own business, and to work with your own hands, as we commanded you; KJV 2000

Gill’s Exposition Commentary

And that ye study to be quiet,…. To live peaceably in their own families, and to give no disturbance to other families, by tale bearing, whispering, and backbiting; to behave with quietness in the neighborhood, town, or city, they dwell in, and to seek the peace thereof; and to lead a quiet and peaceable life, in all godliness and honesty, in the commonwealth, and under the government to which they belong; and not to create and encourage factions, divisions, animosities, and contentions, in their own church, or in any of the churches of Christ; and it becomes saints to make this their study, to be very solicitous for it, to strive for it, and pursue after it: the word used signifies to be ambitious of it, as what is a man’s glory and honour, to emulate and strive to outdo each other, as who shall have the honour of being the quietest person, and the most peaceable member in the community: and to do your own business: or private business, or what is proper and peculiar to a man’s self; to abide every man in his own calling wherein he is called, and attend the business of it, and not thrust himself into other families, and officiously take upon him, under a pretence of zeal, affection, and friendship, to inspect, direct, or manage the business of others: in short, he should not meddle with other people’s business, but mind his own: and this is what the Jews call, “the way of the earth”, or the business of life: “there are four things, (they say (a)) in which a man should employ himself continually, with all his might, and these are they, the law, and good works, and prayer, and the business of life;” upon which the gloss has this note by way of explanation, “if a man is an artificer (let him attend) to his art; if a merchant to his merchandise, and if he is a soldier to war;” and which may serve to illustrate the apostle’s sense: and to work with your own hands; the reason of this is, because there were some among them, who would not work at all; see 2 Thessalonians 3:11 and by this instruction it appears, that the members of this church, in common, were such as were brought up to handicraft trades and businesses, and were poor and mean; and this was the general case of the primitive churches: it pleased God to choose and call the poor of this world, to whom the Gospel was preached, and they received it; few of the rulers among the Jews believed in Christ, and not many mighty, rich, or noble among the Gentiles were called; some there were, and in this church there were some of the chief women of the city, Acts 17:4, and though these and others of the better sort, as well as ministers of the Gospel among them, who laboured in the word and doctrine, were not obliged by this to perform manual work and labour, yet were not exempted from all concern in the exhortation; it being proper and necessary, that all sorts of persons be employed in one sort of business or another, and to use diligence and application in it: the apostle’s view being chiefly to inveigh against sloth and idleness, and to exhort to labour and industry as the most effectual method to preserve peace and quietness, and to keep persons from being troublesome and hurtful, in families, churches, and commonwealths: the reasons enforcing this follow in this and the next verse, as we commanded you; and the command of an apostle carries weight and authority with it, and ought to be obeyed; yea, they not only strictly enjoined a diligent application to business, but set them an example themselves, see 1 Thessalonians 2:9.

This is a verse I’m pondering at present. and further musings.

Romans 12:3 For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. 1 Corinthians 7: 17 Only let each person lead the life that the Lord has assigned to him, and to which God has called him. This is my rule in all the churches.

Be where God desires you to be, where God guides; God provides. A DJ on K.Love said. I’m an artist and want to work with my hands and do more with my art, my last blog demonstrated me making some attempts at getting back to my art roots, and I’m presently working on my next coloring book linking my Celtic interest and the Celtic crosses I like to create. I want to become more knowledgeable about Celtic Spirituality, Art, Contemplative practices, and molding them together, with the help of the creator God, to be a co-creator with the Lord God Almighty.

Water Ancient WellArtist Rulw

I have taken a month or so off from posting a Blog, just needing a break and having some family time.

As I previously said in a past Blog I have been revisiting Celtic Christianity / Spirituality, here are some of my discoveries and findings.

Ray Simpson and the Community of Aidan and Hilda has been my focus and study researching their founder and contacted the US community and have had some communication with the guardian of the US community.

I was reading something I found on-line by Ray Simpson, they are notes from a talk he gave in Denmark and they resonated with me.  They are as what follows:

“In the Acts of the Apostles we read how the ways of Christ spread to the Greek-speaking world. After a few generations the aspect of Greek philosophy that separated the material from the spiritual world did that also with Christianity. Work was split from prayer. The body was split from the soul. Life in Christ was no longer a whole, no longer therefore authentic. But when the ways of Christ came to Ireland, which was outside the Roman Empire, the new Christians were holistic. They saw God in Scripture and in nature, in their bodies and in their spirits. Heaven was not just in the future, heaven could penetrate ordinary life. Martin Luther recognized this truth when he urged people to pray each day ‘Let your holy angel have charge of me…’

Individualism: How to overcome this?

More centuries went by and people in Europe became individualistic. The individual was separated from community – which means in English co-unity. To be authentic means that we recognise we are part of the human community. When the Reformation and printing came every individual could have a Bible. But the Bible was the church’s book. People forgot that, and everyone started to interpret it in their own way without paying attention to the world-wide Christian community. The apostle Paul wrote ‘Do not only think of your own concerns, think also of the concerns of other people’ (Philippians 2:4). The Celtic Christian tradition combines a beautiful spontaneity that allows each person to be guided by the Holy Spirit with a beautiful community that calls us to obedience, that is attentive listening to and honouring of others. So in the Way of Life of Anam-Cara we strive to weave together the God-given strands in Christianity which have become separated, for example the Pentecostal, Scriptural, Sacramental, Contemplative and Social Service strands.”

Can we think of the possibilities rather that problems. The mixing of all that is good and being the church, a community that does make a difference and looks out for the needs of other in Christian love.

Experience Jesus, endless future and present possibilities, to not be afraid! Is it Fear or is it God that is leading your life? Holy Trinity Help me/us overcome our fear!

candles 2
Christ has no body on earth but yours
No hands but yours
No feet but yours
Yours are the eyes through which Christ’s compassion is to look out for the world
Yours are the feet with which he is to go about doing good
Yours are the hands with which he is to bless us now
Teresa of Avila
Forgive us for the good we ought to have done which we have left undone
And for the things we have left undone which we ought to have done

I want to finish my thought with something mentioned in a daily devotion by Richard Foster, A Year with God.

” It is hard for us even to conceive of the communal nature of the early church. Reflect for a few moments on how this quote speaks to your life:  “The deep disease of man, the self-contradiction in which he is involved as individual and member of human society, is his denial of the law of his being. He seeks to possess within or by himself, whether in the form of physical or spiritual goods, which he can have only in the community of receiving and giving.” – H. Richard Niebuhr, Christ and Culture.

We need each other to over come our disease, by being servants to on another to give and receive of one anothers gifts and just being with each other,  in  unity,  come and  unite,  be united. We are a body and every part plays an important part, and if that part does not work correct, is hurt, it significantly effect the performance of the  whole body. I know this personally, as I have had a pinched nerve in my shoulder for moe than a week, we do take for granted the different parts of the body and the significant and insignificant roles they or we play, as each of us play a part if we realize this or not.

“The Christian needs another Christian who speaks God’s Word to him [or her. We] need support again and again, when we become uncertain and discouraged, for by [our-self, we cannot help our-self] without belying the truth. [We] need each other, when we become uncertain and discouraged, for [we] need a person as a bearer and proclaimer of the divine word of salvation. [We need someone solely because of Jesus Christ. The Christ in his or [her]own heart is uncertain, his brother’s [or sister’s] is sure. And that also clarifies the goal of all Christian community: they meet one another as bringers of the message of salvation.” – Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Life Together.

 Art work

Leave a Reply

