Teachable?

Retreat cofc 139

It is for God to open the way for me, not for me. This I need to remember, who is in such a hurry, it is me. God is in no hurry, God’s timing is the best, and perfect. We need to be patient in the waiting, for it is me or we who is not at rest and anxious, not God.

Teach me your way oh Lord, has been my breathe prayer for a couple of weeks. Bringing to my attention, am I actually willing to walk daily in the way and truth of the Lord?

It is after all not my way, but Gods way, help me to lay aside my pride that thinks I know the way for my life, because a lot of the time I have no idea what I have to be about or where I’m going! It is all about trusting that the Lord knows the way, and this is enough! Divine Providence?

Psalm 86:11 Common English Bible (CEB)

11 Teach me your way, Lord, so that I can walk in your truth. Make my heart focused only on honoring your name.

Psalm 86:11 New International Version (NIV)

11 Teach me your way, Lord, that I may rely on your faithfulness; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.

Proverbs 21:2 Common English Bible (CEB)

Everyone’s path is straight in their own eyes, but the Lord weighs the heart.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Common English Bible (CEB)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
    don’t rely on your own intelligence.
Know him in all your paths,
    and he will keep your ways straight.

It is a daily walk of trust, a path to be taken step by step. I like the word walk, it gives the impression of a steady progression, not a sprint. Walking allows the individual to take in their surroundings, and is rhythmic and steady, with every footstep taken it can be felt and seen.

I like to walk, and think, and pray over things, walking also gives something to do as I focus, and ponder things. Trying to be true to yourself, others, and ultimately to the Lord, relying on the faithfulness of the Lord, and having that undivided heart. I know I can be so double or even more than double minded, distracted by many good intention and ideas, and need help from the Lord to make clear the way forward, the step to take. We need help to discern the will of the Lord and fulfill the path for our life.

Tobar the character in my book starts his pilgrimage, walking and following his Anam Cara, trusting that Issidore knows the way.

Path

The Anam Cara.

A Celtic Tale of Tobar’s Transformation.

By Mark Condy

“Come with me Tobar, I want to show you something!”

I followed him, and we were following one of the streams away from the well, walking on the bank of the eastern stream, passing by some beautiful flowers, it was like walking through paradise, what I would imagine paradise being like, it’s as near as I have had to an experience of paradise.

After some time we reached a stone wall with an arch in it, or it may have been a bridge where the stream entered the priory?  There was a walkway like a tunnel with oil lamps lighting the way periodically, allowing us to see from one lamp to the next until we see the light at the tunnel mouth.

On exiting the tunnel, to my amazement I could see the coast only a small distance away.  I hadn’t been to the beach, and then vaguely to my surprise remember having gone one time before. In the blink of an eye we were next to a spectacular golden sandy beach, with aqua blue water, clear as crystal.

It was a very sensual experience, the sounds, the smell, and sights, and it overwhelmed me as I walked with Issidore. The gritty texture of the sand, leaving a wet imprint with each step, waves rolling ashore only a couple of feet from me, the air was fresh, then a waft of seaweed scent. The experience triggered more of the lost memories; bring back to remembrance a childhood experiences I had forgotten. I saw myself as a small child in between my parents walking along the beach, hand in hand.

I knew, and I don’t know why I knew, that it was the same beach we were on, I hadn’t been told it was the East coast of Scotland, near Holy Island. The wind was exceptionally sweet, warm and comforting, not a bitter cold wind, that can be the usual experience at this location. It was a beautiful sunny day and the wind was blowing the foam off the sea onto the beach where I was walking, a froth that was being blown along the sand, it’s destination unknown, having no control, it was like a scripture story I had heard about the wind, of not knowing where it comes from, or where it is going, just see the effects.  It was parallel of my life, blown along not knowing my destination, but trusting the Guide and now Issidore.

I didn’t know where Issidore was taking me but I was really enjoying the walk, he said the destination was about a mile along the beach from Fillan.

In the distance, becoming clearer as we walked closer an unusual building a large cone like structure that sat upon a circular stone wall the circumference of the base of the cone, like a wigwam of the native Americans. I was later told by Issidore that it was an ancient site and of an old style Scottish building called a Crannog or Broch of Celtic Scottish origin.

CROSS IN ICE

The Lord is our ultimate teacher, but if we struggle to hear the Lord. We have to make sure to surround ourselves with trusted people, friends to help with needed discernment, to have a teacher, a mentor, someone to give advice, a sounding board that allows you to be transparent and accountable too, so as not to be led astray.

Teach me your way Oh Lord.

Am I teachable?

Am I willing to listen?

Am I open to new ways?

Am I willing to fall in love with a new way, and trust the leading of the Holy Spirit, who teaches and leads into truth?

We need to be praying with confidence, even in our times of struggle and darkness, like David, persistently pressing on, and remaining confident. Asking for the instruction from the Lord.

Psalm 27:11, 13 – 14 Common English Bible (CEB)

11 Lord, teach me your way;
because of my opponents, lead me on a good path.

13 I remain confident of this:
I will see the goodness of the Lord
in the land of the living.
14 Wait for the Lord;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the Lord.

But when that hope starts to waiver, what then?

Proverbs 13:12

New International Version Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.

New Living Translation Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a dream fulfilled is a tree of life.

English Standard Version Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a desire fulfilled is a tree of life.

Benson Commentary

Proverbs 13:12Hope deferred maketh the heart sick — The delay of that which a man eagerly desires and expects is such an affliction, that it differs little from a lingering disease; but when the desire cometh — When the good desired and expected is obtained. It is a tree of life — That is, most sweet, satisfactory, and reviving to the soul.

Gill’s Exposition of the Entire Bible

Hope deferred maketh the heart sick,…. That is, the object hoped for; if it is not enjoyed so soon as expected, at least if it is delayed any length of time, the mind becomes uneasy, the heart sinks and fails, and the man is dispirited and ready to despond, and give up all hope of enjoying the desired blessing; whether it be deliverance from any evil, or the possession of any good; but when the desire cometh, it is a tree of life; when that which is hoped and wished for, and has been long expected and desired, comes; when there is an accomplishment of men’s wishes, it is as grateful to him as the tree of life was in Eden’s garden; it gives him an unspeakable pleasure and delight.

There is pain and frustration to carry until the dissapointment what we are faced with have passed and the longings, dreams, and desires have come to pass, it is in the waiting with hope, faith, and love, that a sudden surprize can occur, and that which we have longed for comes to pass.

Teach me your way oh Lord

2 thoughts on “Teachable?

  1. This is a lovely Post and I can read your love of all things Celtic in it…from Crannog to Anam Cara. Your descriptions of the beach and childhood memories flooding back are indeed very beautiful. The photo of your path and pilgrimage that Tabor is setting out on is so evocative…
    Do you mean Lindisfarne or Holy Island? There is a Holy Island on the west coast of Scotland, near Arran…now a Buddhist Centre. Another Holy Island or Lindisfarne, with Celtic roots, is on the east coast, south of Berwick and which is off the coast of Northumberland, England. About an hour and a half from here…

    Blessings…

    Like

  2. Most stories are from personal experience, my beach is Holy Island which is also called Lindisfarne, yes on the East coast of Scotland. I use to go there on a regular basis from my home in the Borders, checking the tide table before leaving 🙂 You near Lindisfarne? The photo of the path I took a number of years ago at the Peak District when at bible college.

    Thanks for the words of encouragement, always loo forward to your comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

