Thoughts from my Journal

candles and colored light 021

How to be aware of God’s presence and what are the tools we have to enhance and know the Lord with us, (Emmanuel). I will be highlighting over the next few weeks and months, techniques toward helping myself and others who want to read my ramblings,  toward being aware of and recognize the promptings of the Lord and enter into the Moments of the Sacred the reason for the name of my blog.

A question: At the end of the day having slowed down to catch our breath, having been stopped for a moment. Sit down in our comfortable chair, kicking of the shoes, and start to unwind relaxing in front of the TV, in most cases to escape. Rather than escape, I know I’m a culprit of doing this also, there are times for this don’t take me wrong way, I like TV and movies, but we have to set aside time for the sacred or there will be no meaning to life, life will  become route rather than a gift to be appreciated. Will we get into a practice of pausing to reflect, and examine our day. Just before bed or at a time you have to yourself, when you are not disturbed and distracted Do you have those alone times?

Will we ask ourselves, have we been busy about nothing, running the rat race of life, attaining nothing of worth or are you and I relaxed in the knowledge of doing that which you have been gifted to do?

“Our hearts are restless until they rest in you Lord.” Augustine.

“Cease striving and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10 NASB

Have we been fulfilled or frustrated, did we recognize the Lords presence and responded, or did we not notice the moment of the sacred? This is my quest, how to become more aware of God’s presence?

Jean – Pierre De Caussade  Abandonment to divine providence

Live minute to minute

“The past is past, future is yet to be. There is nothing we can do about either, but we can deal with what is happening moment by moment. We must realize that there is nothing at all which happens unless willed by God, and our important duty is to co-operate with that will. It’s abandoning ourselves to God, that we should have to completely be fully aware of what hangs upon every moment and that we react as best we can, in the way God wishes.”

Some key sentences of Caussade for me are:

“If we have abandoned ourselves to God, there is only one rule for us: the duty of the present moment.”

“Don’t be discouraged with what God gives you every moment, enjoy the gift.”

“You cannot find peace by resisting the almighty God. This is probably the source of your troubles.”

“If you are satisfied with what God chooses for you what else can please you.” Caussade

Some other thoughts that caught my imagination from

Sleeping with bread : holding what gives you life / by Dennis Linn, Sheila Fabricant Linn, Matthew Linn.; illustration by Francisco Miranda.

Dennis Linn

“Peace at any cost might have led me to burnout, since the deepest part of me yearning to go in the opposite direction and dare to rock the boat. Burnout comes not primarily from doing to much, but from doing what we don’t really want to do – so that one foot is moving forward and the other foot is trying to run away.”

Entering into the will of God, allows for the intimate Moment of the Sacred to happen.

The book talks about a “sealed order from God before we were born, each of us talked over with God the special purpose of our time on earth.” Is this resulting in the restlessness not entering into that rest of the moment of the sacred, that special purpose, not finding resulting in the less rest, because of not being in the pre-ordained for our lives, that which the Lord desires, what we had agreed upon.

“For we are what [God] has made us, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand to be our way of life.” Ephesians 2: 8-9

“He created each of us by Christ Jesus to join him in the works he does, the good work he has gotten ready for us to do, work we had better be doing.”
The Message

St Teresa of Avila once advised “Do whatever arouses you most to love.”

God is Love.

The practice I’m trying to address and what the book highlights is St. Ignatius The Examen.

This is how they explain the practice: “We light a candle become aware of God’s loving presence, and take about five minutes of quiet while we each ask two questions.

For what moment today am I most grateful?

For what moment today am I least grateful?

When did I receive and give the most love today?

When did I give and receive the least love today?

When did I feel alive today?

When did I most feel life draining out of me?

When today did I have the greatest sense of belonging to myself, others, God and the Universe?

When did I have the least sense of belonging?

When was I the happiest today?

When was I saddest?

What was today’s high point?

What was today’s low point?

Focus on what gave life and what drained life. The recommend for the practice of The Examine be done over a month focusing each day, by choose one or two of the question use resonated with you at that present moment.

To be…

Lost in the wonder of the moment

defining moment

having a defining moment

a sacred moment

the present moment

the sacrament of the moment

being in the present moment

a too busy moment, is it erasing the moment?

Or missing the moment

an inspiring or uninspiring moment

are we ever truly in the moment

M.C. 2/11/15 This is like a poem by me pondering in the moment.
Job 32:8The Message (MSG)

6-10 This is what Elihu, son of Barakel the Buzite, said:

“I’m a young man,     and you are all old and experienced. That’s why I kept quiet     and held back from joining the discussion. I kept thinking, ‘Experience will tell.     The longer you live, the wiser you become.’ But I see I was wrong—it’s God’s Spirit in a person,     the breath of the Almighty One, that makes wise human insight possible. The experts have no corner on wisdom;     getting old doesn’t guarantee good sense. So I’ve decided to speak up. Listen well!     I’m going to tell you exactly what I think.

I resonate with Elihu, feeling young and not having a lot to contribute, but starts to voice what he is thinking and pondering, and comes to a realization that it is God breathing inspiration and insight, nothing of our own doing, just the grace of God.

Leave a Reply

